top of page
  • Carolyn Herrington

Am I Alone?

It has been a few weeks now since the coronavirus suddenly attacked the whole world, and it seems as if it has been forever.


Isolation is hard. All of us long to be with our loved ones and to feel their warm embrace. Those of us who are lucky can connect with loved ones using technology. But in between the moments of connection, I know that when things get tough, you are asking the question, "Am I alone? Am I the only one whose heart is breaking?"


I pray for those who have lost loved ones to the virus and for those who are on ventilators. As I pray, my heart cries for mercy and I ask myself if I am in this alone.

The prophet Elijah asked that same question after his life was threatened by Queen Jezebel, a worshiper of Baal. God had instructed Elijah to confront King Ahab, Jezebel's husband, and at Elijah's request, King Ahab sent Jezebel's prophets to meet Elijah on a mountain. There, Jezebel's prophets and Elijah each prepared an offering, theirs to Baal and Elijah's to the Lord God Almighty, to see whose god could set it on fire. The prophets of Baal prepared their offering but to no avail; no fire appeared. Next, it was Elijah's turn, and he lifted his prayer to the Lord God Almighty. God's fire fell and consumed the offering and even the altar upon which it had sat. In response, Elijah killed the prophets of Baal who had been leading the Israelites astray, inciting Jezebel's anger.


As Elijah ran for his life, he fled through the wilderness and eventually took refuge in a cave. As he stood in the opening of the cave, he cried out to God and despaired that he was the only one left who was serving the one true God, and yet even enemies were seeking his life. God's answer was that he was not alone because He had prepared 7,000 people who had not bowed their knees before Baal.


I have no idea how many Christians there are in the world, but I am sure that there are many. Like Elijah, we have brothers and sisters who still believe in God's power and sovereignty, and whose hearts yearn for the same righteousness to be revealed. And even more so, this Almighty God dwells with us. At this difficult time, we who name the name of Jesus Christ need to recognize that this world needs healing and that the Scriptures tell us God is ready and willing to do that. In 2 Chronicles 7:14, we are told, "If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land." (KJV)


So are you alone? No, you are not alone. Every Christian in the world is crying out for healing of our land. And every Christian is praying to the same God, who hears us and who heard Elijah when he felt desperate and alone in the cave.


We know our God to be not only a healer of the sick, but also a healer of souls, one who cherishes us and fights for us always. If you have not yet accepted Christ as your personal Savior, it is a very easy step. Just pray this prayer: "Father God, I come to you asking forgiveness for my sins and to ask that you come into my heart and save me. In the name of Jesus I pray. Amen."


Always remember that you are never alone, because no matter where you are, God is with you.



55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page