top of page
  • Carolyn Herrington

Contentment

Updated: Feb 15, 2020

When I think of the word “contentment”, the image that comes to mind is of an elderly couple rocking on their front porch with a sweet smile on their wrinkled faces. They have lived a long time, and the journey has taught them that they serve a faithful God who will meet all of their needs. Just like the Apostle Paul, they can say ,“Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content. I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.” (Phillippians 4:11-13 KJV).


Also, since the elderly couple have walked in righteousness, they can testify to the fact that, “…godliness with contentment is great gain” (1 Timothy 6:6 KJV). As time has gone by, their faith has grown stronger day by day, and now they can truthfully say, “…for I know whom I have believed, and am persuaded that he is able to keep that which I have committed unto him against that day” (2 Timothy 1:12 KJV). They have learned over the years that security leads to contentment, and their security is based on their faith and belief in claiming the verse that says, "The eternal God is thy refuge, and underneath are the everlasting arms...” (Deuteronomy 33:27 KJV).


Through the years, the couple has walked through many valleys, but each time they have heard the Lord speak sweet peace to their hearts saying, “Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light” (Matthew 11:28-30 KJV).


The last reason that I image the elderly couple being content is that they have learned to stay focused. Their hearts and minds are centered on the Lord, and they, like Paul, can say, “…whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things” (Phillippians 4:8 KJV).


Are you in the place of contentment today? If not, run back to one who loves you and is waiting with arms wide open. The scriptures say in Isaiah 30:15, “...In returning and rest shall ye be saved; in quietness and in confidence shall be your strength…” (KJV). It is only in the arms of our precious Lord and Savior that you will find contentment. Rest and find contentment in the knowledge and promise that your Heavenly Father will never leave nor forsake you!




24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page